How Did I Miss That (pt. 1)

10Nov08

So, I’ve realized that no matter how much music I know about or talk about, I will never know everything single album, artist, song or any other musical relation. So today, I found another artist which I sadly missed out on. I “discovered” Miriam Makeba from a post on Boing Boing.

She just passed away from a heart attack. She has a phenomenal style and attitude that crosses over into her music. She became famous during a turbulent time in South Africa, which resulted in her becoming a rights activist and a songstress. As I watch a few YouTube videos of her, something very earnest came across.

Immediately, I thought of Nina Simone, a favorite jazz artist of mine. But besides time period and some vocal similarities, it’s clear that they both do their own thing. I hope you find yourself a new artist to enjoy.

No Responses Yet to “How Did I Miss That (pt. 1)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

