The Waifs’ sundirtwater Uses All The Elements!

10Apr08

I’m talking about the Waifs. More specifically, I’m talking about their latest release, sundirtwater, which was put out on Jarrah records.

The album jump’s everywhere. It starts with a country-twang version of the Noisettes’ rock sound (in “Pony”), moves to a Sarah Vaughn’s “Fever” sexual, slinky filled track (in “sundirtwater”, and then a straight up pop-country Reba song with “How Many Miles”. It even goes into a “Big Yellow Tax” (Joni Mitchell) sound with “Get Me Some”. And it continues to switch up genres.

Let’s make this clear: I am not complaining. It works. In fact, I would not have it any other way. I don’t think I’d like a Waifs’ album filled with a single genre. They switch it up with a country twang mixed with a variety of genres. I’m actually surprised I like this.

1. pony
2. sun dirt water
3. vermillion
4. how many miles
5. without you
6. sad sailor song
7. get me some
8. eternity
9. sweetest dream
10. goodbye
11. stay
12. love let me down
13. feeling sentimental

No Responses Yet to “The Waifs’ sundirtwater Uses All The Elements!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

